The Massachusetts Patient Advocacy Alliance (MPAA) is a coalition of medical marijuana patients, their family members and caregivers, medical professionals, and public health groups that supports safe access to medical cannabis for patients with a doctor’s recommendation.
MPAA brought the 2012 medical cannabis ballot initiative to the voters, and has since been working to ensure implementation of the law is completed in a manner that works for individual patients and communities as a whole.
The people of Massachusetts have spoken and we’d like to thank our patients, caregivers, advocates, and all of you who supported safe access to compassionate medicine and voted YES on Question 3. The Massachusetts patient advocacy alliance, will continue to advocate for safe access to medical marijuana in the commonwealth of MA.
If you are a Patient, Caregiver or planning on becoming one, Please take a few minutes to complete this short survey regarding the states Online MMJ Registration System.
Massachusetts Medical Marijuana- Know Your Rights!
A qualified patient shall not be penalized under Massachusetts law in any manner, or denied any right or privilege, for such actions or be subject to arrest or prosecution, or civil penalty, for the medical use of marijuana provided he or she is following
1. Be Prepared: A patient must have their Marijuana Program ID card and identification (driver’s license, etc.) at all times when you possess marijuana or to purchase cannabis from a dispensary. A patient or caregiver should present his or her Marijuana Program ID card and ID to any law enforcement official only when being questioned regarding use of marijuana
2. Be Discreet: Avoid consuming cannabis where others can see you. Never leave cannabis or related items in plain view.
3. Quantity: A patient can posses a 60 day supply of cannabis defined as 10 ounces unless a certifying physician has determined and certified that a qualifying patient requires an amount of cannabis exceeding 10 ounces as a 60-day supply.
4. Travel Safely: Do not smoke, vaporize or ingest cannabis and drive. If you travel with cannabis, make sure your vehicle is up to code and your cannabis is concealed, preferably locked in your trunk.
5. Be polite, keep your hands in view and make no sudden moves. The officer may detain you while he or she verifies your information.
6. Casual Conversation: If you talk to an officer, you may give them the information they need to arrest you or your friends. Ask politely if you are being detained. If not, walk away.
7. Detention: If an officer says “ Do you mind if I look in your purse, bag, home or car? You say, “I do not consent to searches.” If the officer says “Why not? Are you hiding something?” You say, “I believe in my Constitutional right to privacy and I do not consent to searches.” Note: This may not stop an officer from searching you but it can get help get any evidence thrown out in court.
8. ARRESTED: Say, “ I choose to remain silent, and I want to see a lawyer.” (Then REMAIN SILENT).
9. Grow a limited number of plants: a patient or their registered caregiver may grow a limited amount of plants at either the patient’s home or at your caregiver’s home. Once dispensaries open, a patient must apply and receive a cultivation registration (hardship cultivation) from the state to continue to grow cannabis at home.
10. Storage: Cultivated and storage of cannabis shall be in an enclosed, locked area accessible only to the registered qualifying patient or his or her personal caregiver and shall not be visible from the street or other public areas.